Woburn Golf Club hosted its first tournament in 1979 when the Dunlop British Masters was staged on the Duke's Course, which was only three years after it had opened.

Since 1979, the club has hosted in excess of fifty Professional Tournaments over the three courses. The role of honour reads like a who's who of world golf. Eight former winners are members of the World Golf Hall of Fame: Seve Ballesteros, Nick Faldo, Sandy Lyle, Colin Montgomerie, Greg Norman, Patty Sheehan, Lee Trevino, Karrie Webb, plus major winners Ariya Jutanugarn, Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson and Ian Woosnam.

In addition, Woburn Golf Club has also hosted Amateur Tournaments, most notably the Men's English Open Amateur Strokeplay (Brabazon Trophy) in 1982, the Seniors Open Amateur Championship in 2005 and the English Amateur Championship in 2011. 

A big focus is also placed on juniors and young golfers with the Prince of Wales Amateur Challenge Trophies and the Ian Poulter Junior Invitational. 

In 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, the Marquess course was one of four courses in the country used to stage final qualifying for The Open Championship was played this year on the Marquess course on Tuesday 4th July.  

At the beginning of September 2016 The European Seniors Tour returned to Woburn for the 16th consecutive year, when the Travis Perkins Masters was won by Andre Bossert.  The Travis Perkins Masters will return to Woburn from 1st to 3rd September 2017.