Woburn Golf Club hosted its first tournament in 1979 when the Dunlop British Masters was staged on the Duke's Course, which was only three years after it had opened.

Since 1979, the club has hosted sixty Professional Tournaments over the three courses. The role of honour reads like a who's who of world golf. Eight former winners are members of the World Golf Hall of Fame: Seve Ballesteros, Nick Faldo, Sandy Lyle, Colin Montgomerie, Greg Norman, Patty Sheehan, Lee Trevino, Karrie Webb, plus major winners Ariya Jutanugarn, Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson and Ian Woosnam and the latest addition Hinako Shibuno, winner of the AIG Women's British Open 2019.

In addition, Woburn Golf Club has also hosted Amateur Tournaments, most notably the Men's English Open Amateur Strokeplay (Brabazon Trophy) in 1982, the Seniors Open Amateur Championship in 2005 and the English Amateur Championship in 2011. 

A big focus is also placed on juniors and young golfers with the Prince of Wales Amateur Challenge Trophies.

In 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017, the Marquess course was one of four courses in the country used to stage final qualifying for The Open Championship.  

The Prince of Wales Amateur Challenge Trophies for young male and female golfers which is a 36 Hole Scratch event.  This was to have been played  on the Duke's course on Thursday 28th May but unfortunately due to the COVID-19 Pandemic has been cancelled in 2020.