During the mid eighties Woburn Golf Club was synonymous with professional tournament golf for both men and ladies, staging two and sometimes three professional tournaments in a year.  

In addition to the British Masters, which has been staged at Woburn on seventeen occasions since 1979. Woburn also hosted The Ford Ladies Classic on the Duke's Course from 1982 until 1985 when it moved to the Duchess' Course with the final tournament, won by Catrin Nilsmark in 1994. In 1984 The Women's British Open Championship was staged on the Duke's Course returning again under the sponsorship of Weetabix from 1991 - 1996 and again in 1999.

Woburn has hosted the European Seniors Tour on the Duke's Course annually since 2001 when the European Senior Masters was first held at Woburn. The tournament, which has been sponsored by Travis Perkins plc since 2008 returned to Woburn again in September 2016 when it was won by Andre Bossert.

The British Masters supported by Sky Sports was played on the Marquess course in October 2015.  Woburn's Tournament Professional, Ian Poulter hosted the tournament, which was won by Matthew Fitzpatrick.  

Woburn staged its first major championship with the Ricoh Women's British Open which was played on the Marquess course in July 2016, the winner was Ariya Jutanugarn from Thailand.  The AIG Women's British Open played  on the Marquess course in 2019 was won by Hinako Shibuno.

Travis Perkins Masters

In 2001, The European Senior Masters was staged on the Duke's course for the first time. The tournament returned to Woburn in 2002 as The Bovis Lend Lease European Masters, which continued for the next 4 years. In the absence of sponsors the tournament reverted back to the title of The European Masters in 2006 and 2007 prior to the sponsorship of Travis Perkins plc who have now sponsored the tournament for 10 years.

The 2015 Travis Perkins Masters, was won by Colin Montgomerie, who was defending the title he won in 2013 and 2014.  The Travis Perkins Masters is a popular event on the European Seniors Tour. The players enjoy returning to Woburn, many of whom had competed in The British Masters when playing on the European Tour. The crowds are always good with a record of 23,250 over the three days in 2013 and in excess of 18,000 over the three day in 2018.

The 2018 Travis Perkins Masters which took place from 31st August to 2nd September was won by Paul Streeter.


  • Image for Mark James 2005 (1)
  • Image for Carl Mason Twice Winner
  • Image for Tony Johnstone (1)
  • Image for Des Smyth 2012 (1)
  • Image for Boonchu 2011 (1)
  • Image for Monty Winner 2013

Senior Masters Winners

2001 Bob Shearer 2007  Carl Mason 2013 Colin Montgomerie
2002 Delroy Cambridge 2008  Gordon J Brand 2014 Colin Montgomerie
2003  Paul Leonard 2009  Tony Johnstone 2015 Colin Montgomerie
2004  Luis Carbonetti 2010  Des Smyth 2016 André Bossert
2005 Mark James 2011  Boonchu Ruangkit 2017 Philip Golding
2006 Carl Mason 2012  Des Smyth 2018 Paul Streeter

Final Qualifying for The Open 2017

Tuesday 4th July 2017

Final Qualifying for The Open was played on Woburn's Marquess Course for the fourth year running on Tuesday 4th July.  A field 72 players competed over 36 holes of stroke play qualifying for 3 places in The Open at Royal Birkdale with Woburn's Touring Professional, Ian Poulter finishing joint second to qualify.
The Open Qualifying Series Final CMYK On Dark Cropped 300

The British Masters

In 1979 and 1981 The British Masters, sponsored by Dunlop, was staged on the Duke's Course. The tournament returned to Woburn as the Dunhill British Masters in 1985 and with live coverage by the BBC it was played annually until 1994. The tournament returned to Woburn in 1999 as the Victor Chandler British Masters with the final two events in 2001 and 2002 played on the Marquess' Course, which opened in 2000.

The return of The British Masters supported by Sky Sports was hosted by Woburn's Tournament Professional, Ian Poulter and played on the Marquess course from the 8th to the 11th October 2015.   In excess of 47,000 spectators enjoyed the tournament which was won by 21 year old Matt Fitzpatrick.  

Final Results

  • Image for Seve 7 Lord T Prize Giving
  • Image for 2002 Justin Rose with Family

The British Masters Winners

1979 Graham Marsh 1989  Nick Faldo   1999 Bob May
1981 Greg Norman 1990 Mark James 2000 Gary Orr
1985 Lee Trevino 1991  Seve Ballesteros  2001 Thomas Levet
1986 Seve Ballesteros 1992 Christy O'Connor Jnr 2002  Justin Rose
1987 Mark McNulty 1993  Peter Baker  2015  Matt Fitzpatrick
1988 Sandy Lyle 1994  Ian Woosnam  

The Women's British Open Championship

Woburn Golf Club first hosted The Women's British Open Championship in 1984 when it was sponsored by Hitachi. 

Under the sponsorship of Weetabix the tournament returned to Woburn in 1991 and was staged on the Duke's Course for six consecutive years until 1996 and then returned in 1999.

Woburn was delighted that the Ricoh Women’s British Open Championship returned to Woburn when it was staged on the Marquess course from 28th to 31st July 2016.  It is the first Major Championship to have been staged at Woburn as the championship did not become an official LPGA major until 2001.

The Women's British Open Championship returned to Woburn again in 2019 when it was played on the Marquess course from the 1st - 4th August under the sponsorship of AIG.  The winner was Hinako Shibuno.

Final Scores


  • Image for Hinako Shibuno Womens British Open

The Women's British Open Championship Winners

1984  A Okamota         1995  Karrie Webb 
1990  Helen Alfredsson 1996  Emilee Klein
1991  Penny Grice-Whitaker 1999  Sherri Steinhauer
1992  Patty Sheehan  2016  Ariya Jutanugarn
1993  Karen Lunn   

2019  Hinako Shibuno

1994  Liselotte Neumann  

Ford Ladies Classic

Woburn Golf Club hosted the Ladies Tour for the first time in 1982 with the Ford Ladies Classic, which was played on the Duke's Course from 1982 to 1984, moving to the Duchess Course in 1985 and 1994. 

The Tournament, sponsored by the Ford Motor Company, was held each year at the end of April or early May. The final event in 1994 enjoyed record crowds with an announcement being sent out on BBC Radio advising spectators travelling to Woburn that they should return home as the car parks were full and no more spectators could be accommodated.

Ford Ladies Classic Winners

1982  Jenny Lee Smith 1987 Gillian Stewart  1992 Stefania Groce
1983  Barbara Helbig 1988 Laura Davies 1993 Frederica Dassu           
1984  Katrina Douglas       1989 Marie-Laure De Lorenzi           1994 Catrin Nilsmark       
1985  Gillian Stewart 1990 Marie-Laure De Lorenzi  
1986  Muriel Thomson 1991 Dale Reid  

The Heritage Tournament

Winner - Henrik Stenson

The Heritage Tournament, played in 2004 on The Duke's Course, was organised by IMG in recognition of Ken Schofields contribution to the European Tour on his retirement as Chief Executive.